Do I need my own firearm to take your classes?
Some of them, yes. On the individual training pages it will spell out if you need to bring your own firearm, ammunition, holster, etc…
What range do you use?
If you’re doing a CCL class, we use Fox Valley Shooting Range in South Elgin. It’s only about a 10 minute drive from our classroom. If you’re doing a Women’s Only or Pistol 1 class we use Article II Range in Lombard (it’s by 355 and North Ave). If we’re doing any Rifle class, advanced pistol class, or any sort of tactical class, long range shooting, etc… we go to the Aurora Sportsman’s Club in Waterman.
Do I need to bring a holster to class?
It will say in the class details.
How much ammo will I need to bring?
It varies by which class you’re taking. It will say in the class details.
What if I don’t have my own gun?
If it’s a Women’s Only, Pistol 1, or CCL class you don’t need your own pistol. Any other class you will need to bring your own pistol or rifle.
Do I need to be fingerprinted electronically for my concealed carry class?
No, not yet. Electronic Livescan fingerprints are an option which speeds along the application approval. Starting in 2024 fingerprints will be mandatory for FOID and CCL applications. The state rep that proposed this bill has a family member working as the VP of the largest Livescan fingerprint vendor in the State. So, by following the money you can see how and why they’re making this mandatory.
For the CCL class, do I get credit for serving in the military?
Yes, as long as you can provide a copy of your DD-214 form, you will receive an 8-hour credit. When registering online for class, you will only attend the Sunday portion and you must bring a copy of your DD-214 or active duty military ID (only for Active Duty) or you will not be granted the 8-hour waiver. We do offer a 50% discount for veterans claiming the 8 hours credit. If you only fired a gun in boot camp, or to qualify once a year and haven’t shot since you left the military, we strongly recommend coming for both days. It’ll only make you safer.
What prior training can be accepted to the 16-hour CCL class?
Our Pistol 1 class is an NRA certified class and you will receive a certificate at the end of it, which covers the first 8 hours of the CCW class, so you would only have to come the 2nd day. Otherwise, the Illinois State Police created a list on their website of accepted prior training. You can access the list through the following link: https://isp.illinois.gov/StaticFiles/docs/FSB/CCWPriorTrainingCredit.pdf
Can we open carry?
No. Per Illinois State Law, open carry is not authorized, only concealed carry.
How long does it take to get my FOID or CCL?
Right now the State is averaging 121 days for FOID and 145 days for CCL.
What do CCL and CCW stand for?
CCL = Concealed Carry License
CCW = Carry a Concealed Weapon
They are interchangeable terms and can get brought up 2 ways in the same sentence. It’s like the pop vs. soda argument in Chicagoland.
What are your instructor qualifications to teach students?
Other than serving in combat roles in the Marine Corps infantry, I am a:
- Certified Shoot House Instructor
- Krav Maga Instructor (Hand-to-hand self defense)
I am also certified by the USCCA to teach:
- Concealed Carry and Home Defense
- Emergency First Aid Fundamentals
- Countering the Mass Shooter Threat
- Women’s Handgun and Self Defense
- Basic Pistol
- Basic Rifle
- Women on Target®
- Refuse to be a Victim®
- Pistol Marksmanship Simulator
and I’m a certified Range Safety Officer (RSO), Illinois State Police Certified Instructor, and Illinois, Florida, and Arizona certified concealed carry instructor.